Loading the player...


Show Review

LA outfit The One AM Radio hang their hats on a sound that laces tender vocal melodies across a bed of serious, synth reverberations. The effect sounds something like if Death Cab were to put down their guitars and start fussing about with keyboards, lap tops, and an variety of other electronic gadgets and gizmos (without all the whimsical nuance of that Postal Service record). It's an engaging and ear catching listen; one we wanted to know more about. So we recently invited band-founder Hrishikesh Hirway, Fontaine Cole, and Scott Leahy to Baeble HQ for conversation about their history, their sound, and their recently released album Heaven Is Attached by a Slender Thread. Like the elegant pop they construct, you should find the trio has a really pleasant and conversational demeanor (which made our jobs easy...thanks guys!). Check out the interview below

Artist Bio

The dark, melancholy dream pop sounds of the One AM Radio came together in 1999 with vocalist Hrishikesh Hirway, and despite various collaborators, the band remained something of his one-man project through the years. He was a student at Yale and recorded several EPs with Ted Leo and the like. In spring 2000, he befriended another Yale student, violin player Jane Yakowitz, to contribute to a 7" he was recording for Troubleman Unlimited. The two struck a chord, personally and professionally. Yakowitz joined Hirway for some live appearances, and within a year she was permanently added to the One AM Radio lineup. The Hum of the Electric Air marked the band's proper debut in July 2002. The more expansive and lush A Name Writ in Water appeared two years later through Level Plane, and the remix album On the Shore of the Wide World followed in early 2005. The One AM Radio then made their Dangerbird Records debut in February 2007 with the self-produced This Too Will Pass, and returned in 2011 with the lushly produced Heaven Is Attached by a Slender Thread.



About this Video

  • Duration:
  • 7:47
  • Views:
  • 3,847
The One AM Radio

© 2019 Baeble Media. All rights reserved.