MP3: Cass McCombs
    • MONDAY, AUGUST 29, 2011

    • Posted by: Joe Puglisi

    Cass McCombs wastes no time. The prolific songwriter is already packaging his second album of the year, a follow-up to Wit's End entitled Humor Risk. It's said by Domino to be "more rhythm-based, tempos swifter to nearly rocking, than the sparse Wit's End" and first cut "The Same Thing" seems to support this claim. Grab it below.

    The album was recorded in various homes and studios in California, New York, New Jersey and Chicago, and was produced by Cass McCombs and Ariel Rechtshaid, his collaborator for Wit's End and 2009's Catacombs.

    Humor Risk:
    1. Love Thine Enemy
    2. The Living Word
    3. The Same Thing
    4. To Every Man His Chimera
    5. Robin Egg Blue
    6. Mystery Mail
    7. Meet Me At the Mannequin Gallery
    8. Mariah (sketch)

    Despite the uptempo chug, sounds very McComb-y to me. Humor Risk is out 11/8 on Domino Records.

    © 2019 Baeble Media. All rights reserved.