t.g.i.mixtape: volume 29
    • FRIDAY, AUGUST 28, 2009

    • Posted by:

    Greeting fellow music lovers. Last week we had a very special edition of our T.G.I.Mixtape series with a mixtape devoted to artists that have been a part of the Yellow Bird Project. This week, on the 29th volume in our series we are back to what we do best, and that is giving you a sneak peak at some of the best tracks that we have laid ears on in the past week. And stay tuned for next week's mixtape on which we will take a look back at the ten best tracks of the summer. -Greg Lozoff

    audio player

    scroll through this player to listen to all tracks on the mixtape

    1. Daniel Johnston - "Freedom"
    To start us off this week we have a song that comes as sort of a surprise. It seems like it's been forever and a day that we have had anything new from bipolar folkster Daniel Johnston, but as of October 6th, we will have a whole new album of Daniel Johnston songs to enjoy. The album will be called Is And Always Was and on it Johnston is teaming up with producer Jason Falkner, who has previously worked with Beck, Air and Paul McCartney. This should be a interesting listen, to say the least.

    2. Birdie Busch - "Hometown Boredom"
    We were so excited to find out that Philly folk singer/songwriter Birdie Busch was putting out a new album. We became even more excited when we heard just how good it is. The album is called Pattern of Saturn and this heartfelt little number can be found nestled in among a bunch of equally pretty songs. A perfect album to usher in the fall.

    3. Dead Man's Bones - "In The Room Where You Sleep"
    Do you remember hearing something about actor and heartthrob Ryan Gosling starting a band? Well it's true, and they call themselves Dead Man's Bones. The project was started by Gosling and his friend Zach Shields a few years back and now they are finally ready to release their first LP, cleverly entitled Never Let A Lack Of Talent Get You Down. The music sounds like something out of The Rocky Horror Picture Show and with song titles like "My Body's A Zombie For You" and "Warewolf Heart" this will likely be the perfect album to ring in Halloween. Get out your masks and face paint people!

    4. Pomplamoose - "Hail Mary"
    Let's step up the pace a little with a jittery, percussion heavy track by Californian indie pop duo Pomplamoose (not to be confused with french grapefruit, which is spelled pamplemousse). Jack Conte and Nataly Dawn have only been making music together since last summer and only played there first show in January of this year, so we can only hope that they keep it up and that we hear a lot more from them in the near future.

    5. The Lovely Feathers - "Lowiza"
    Here we have a brand new track by Montreal indie rockers The Lovely Feathers. You have got to love how these guys continue to put out high intensity rock songs that sound like they were written and recorded in a few hours, yet sound well thought out at the same time. Judging by the energy that comes across in their music it should come as no surprise that their live show is one of the best around. Their new one is called Fantasy of the Lot and this is the lead track, "Lowiza".

    6. Blind Man's Colour - "The Warm Current's Pull"
    Does this song sound like Animal Collective or what? Nevertheless this is just a kick-ass song by Florida's Blind Man's Colour. Their debut full length album, Season Dreaming is out now and we highly recommend it for all you psychedelic/electro/ambient pop fans.

    7. Daniel Rossen - "Waterfall"
    Next we have a new song from Grizzly Bear and Department of Eagles member Daniel Rossen. "Waterfall" is a song that Rossen recorded for an album that pays tribute to the music of Judee Sill, a singer/songwriter from the 70s who gained some notoriety before eventually dying of a drug overdose in the late 70s. The album is called Crayon Angel: A Tribute To The Music of Judee Sill and along with Rossen you can hear the music of Sill covered by artists like Final Fantasy, Beth Orton, Marissa Nadler and more.

    8. Arctic Monkeys - "Crying Lightning"
    Arctic Monkeys have returned with their much anticipated third full length, entitled Humbug. "Crying Light" is the first single from the album, and is also the lead track on the album. It sounds pretty much as you'd expect an Arctic Monkeys song to sound, but is still a great start to a pretty solid album.

    9. Mum - "If I Were A Fish"
    Mum has gone through a lot of changes over the years. From the sparse glitch-pop of their first release yesterday Was Dramatic - Today Is Okay to their latest full length, Sing Along To Songs You Don't Know which has the band sounding more conventional than ever before, but don't worry they are still as quirky and off the wall as ever before. This band gets more and more lovable by the album.

    10. She and Him - "Please Please Please Let Me Get What I Want" (Smiths cover)
    To cap off this week's mixtape we have a lovely cover by She and Him from the soundtrack of Zooey Deschanel's latest flick, 500 Days of Summer. The movie itself is great and is full of amazing music but this song, a Smiths cover, performed by She and Him, is a welcome addition to an already great soundtrack and serves as a perfect ending for this week's mixtape.

    © 2018 Baeble Media. All rights reserved.