Robert Plant Sticks to His Roots With New Song, 'The May Queen'
    • FRIDAY, AUGUST 18, 2017

    • Posted by: Jake Holzman

    Today, rock legend Robert Plant announced a new album, titled Carry Fire, which will be his first solo release since Lullaby and… the Ceaseless Roar in 2014. The album will feature 11 songs, all of which Plant produced himself. One of the former Led Zeppelin frontman's most successful releases since he began his solo career in the early 80s was his collaboration with the bluegrass-country singer Alison Kraus, Raising Sand, which was critically acclaimed and won Album of the Year at the Grammy Awards in 2009.

    Plant also released a new single from Carry Fire today, titled "The May Queen," and fans should be excited by what they hear in the single. Like many of the best Led Zeppelin songs, it is as graceful as it is thunderous and exciting. Sonically, you can hear Plant's bluegrass influences, as well as the same rock-and-roll tenacity that is inseparable from his legacy. Also, remarkably enough, the song is as tinged in the present-day as it is steeped in the past. The way those pulsating synths work in tandem with the acoustic guitars, Plant's soothing vocal harmonies, and the booming drums make for a listening experience that is romantic, relaxing, and emotionally resonant.

    Carry Fire will be released on October 13th, and will be succeeded by a tour in November, starting in the UK and Ireland. You can check out the official track listing for Carry Fire below

    Carry Fire Tracklisting:

    1. "The May Queen"
    2. "New World…"
    3. "Season's Song"
    4. "Dance With You Tonight"
    5. "Carving Up the World Again… a Wall and Not a Fence"
    6. "A Way With Words"
    7. "Carry Fire"
    8. "Bones of Saints"
    9. "Keep it Hid"
    10. "Bluebirds Over the Mountain"
    11. "Heaven Sent"

    © 2019 Baeble Media. All rights reserved.