saddle creek braves the land of talk
    • MONDAY, JULY 21, 2008

    • Posted by:

    Montreal is cranking out music like it's the new number one Canadian export (and let's face it, the product is in demand). Even luckier for us, US label Saddle Creek is picking up Land of Talk, and planning to release their new record, entitled Some Are Lakes.

    Land of Talk has shared the stage with The Decemberists, Tapes n' Tapes and The Rosebuds. And to top those creds, they spent time in the studio working on their album with songwriting genius Justin Vernon (better known by his pseudonym, Bon Iver). The album is the follow-up to the 2006 EP Applause Cher Boo Hiss, which garnered praise from the wires not only for the bands "fist-pumping choruses," but for lead singer Elizabeth "Lizzie" Powell's "voice that flits between come-hither and go-fuck-yourself" (thanks Time Out NY). Bassist Chris McCarron and drummer Andrew Barr provide the rhythm for Powell's riffage. LoT just finished up their tour, but we have an album of fresh cuts to look forward to in the fall.

    Some Are Lakes track listing:
    1. Yuppy Flu
    2. Death By Fire
    3. The Man Who Breaks Things (Dark Shuffle)
    4. Some Are Lakes * first single
    5. Give Me Back My Heart Attack
    6. It's Okay
    7. Young Bridge
    8. Corner Phone
    9. Got A Call
    10. Troubled

    Some Are Lakes is out October 7th. -joe puglisi

    * * * * * * * * * * * *
    Land of Talk on Myspace

    © 2018 Baeble Media. All rights reserved.