Nine Inch Nails' 'LESS THAN' is a Sign of Good Things to Come
    • THURSDAY, JULY 13, 2017

    • Posted by: Jake Holzman

    Last week, Trent Reznor teased… something. We weren't really sure what, because there wasn't a whole lot we could take away from a tweet that merely said "NEXT WEEK." However, Nine Inch Nails fans were certain that it would be news about the next release in the trilogy of EPs that began with last year's Not the Actual Events.

    That turned out to be the case, because today Trent Reznor revealed that the second EP, ADD VIOLENCE, will be released next week on July 21. This release date makes perfect sense, seeing as how Reznor also confirmed recently that the next EP would be out before NIN plays the first show of its tour, which will be on July 23 at FYF Fest in L.A.

    But, to hold us over, NIN put out a new song today: "LESS THAN," which is also the opening track on ADD VIOLENCE. If you weren't a fan of the messier, more impenetrable songs on Not the Actual Events, rejoice: "LESS THAN" is an intricately crafted rock song that harkens back to albums like With Teeth, The Fragile, and even Hesitation Marks. However, don't think that "LESS THAN" is so straightforward that it lacks the complex textures that feature so prominently in Reznor's best work. The song gradually evolves until it's gone from the simple synth progression at its start to the explosive hook of distortion and grinding guitars at its close. Think "Came Back Haunted," the first single off of 2013's Hesitation Marks. Much like that song gave us something exciting to look forward to four years ago, "LESS THAN" is a sign of good things to come when ADD VIOLENCE drops next week.

    Trent Reznor also released the tracklisting for the five-song EP, which you can check out below. Also, if you've yet to dive into the influential industrial rock act's discography, and don't know where to start, be sure to read our in-depth guide on all things Nine Inch Nails, which will hopefully help you find your footing.

    ADD VIOLENCE EP Tracklisting:

    1. LESS THAN

    © 2020 Baeble Media. All rights reserved.