It's Time To Stop Sleeping On Joywave
    • WEDNESDAY, JULY 12, 2017

    • Posted by: Ally Farrell

    Formed in Rochester, New York in 2010, Joywave is an electronic indie-rock band consisting of Daniel Armbruster (vocals), Joseph Morinelli (guitar), Sean Donnelly (bass), Benjamin Bailey (keyboards), and Paul Brenner (drums). The band released a mixtape, 77777, in 2011, and their debut EP, Koda Vista, the following year. Joywave was featured on "Dangerous," a song co-written and sung by Armbruster when he was still a member of electronic group Big Data. The song reached number one on the Billboard Alternative charts in 2014, garnering recognition for both Big Data and Joywave. Later that year, the group released their second EP, How Do You Feel?, and their first full length, How Do You Feel Now? followed in 2015.

    Joywave's sophomore LP, Content, is slated to drop on the 28th of this month. Five singles have been released from the album so far, the most recent titled "Going to a Place" was released late last week. "Going to a Place" is a percussive song, with drums being the main musical element, and it relies on the vocals and bass to carry the melody. Synths are also used heavily throughout the nearly 6 minute song, but that is to be expected of any Joywave track.

    If the rest of Content is anything like its singles, it will no doubt become the alt-rock soundtrack for the rest of your summer. The album's title track, "Content," is perfect for when you want to pretend you're fighting alongside Gal Gadot in Wonder Woman. "It's a Trip" will give you those pseudo-reggae vibes you need as you drive down the Atlantic City Expressway, and "Shutdown" is practically made for mourning your summer romance with the hot lifeguard you never actually mustered up the courage to talk to.

    You can catch Joywave on tour with Young the Giant and Cold War Kids starting later this month.

    © 2020 Baeble Media. All rights reserved.