t.g.i.mixtape: volume 17
    • FRIDAY, JUNE 05, 2009

    • Posted by:

    What is great about summer besides the weather and all the great summery things is all of those fabulous summer releases. It seems as if there has been an abundance of great music being released these days, so here at Baeble we have had our hands full in sifting through it and picking the 10 tracks for the latest volume in our T.G.I.Mixtape series. We sincerely hope you enjoy it, and have a great weekend.-Greg Lozoff

    1. Jay Reatard - "It Ain't Gonna Save Me"

    To start things off we have a brand new song by retro-punk superstar Jay Reatard. This guy has been cranking out tunes for awhile now with his two bands, The Reatards and The Lost Sounds but his latest album, Watch Me Fall is more or less a solo effort. Expect to see that one in stores this August.

    2. A.C. Newman - "There Are Maybe Ten or Twelve"

    Here's the lead track from New Pornographers frontman A.C. Newman's latest solo album, entitled Get Guilty. The album sounds a lot like a New Pornographers album, minus the incredibly talented Neko Case and Dan Bejar. Instead, Newman enlisted the help of two other very talented female songstresses that go by the names of Nicole Atkins and Kori Gardner (Mates of State). While Neko Case is hard to replace, these girls can certainly belt out a tune.

    3. Viva Voce - "Devotion"

    Look who's back! It's the lovable husband and wife duo Viva Voce with a brand new album of retro rockness. While Anita and Kevin Robinson remain as the core members of the group, they have enlisted the help of Evan Railton and Corrina Repp on their latest album, Rose City, giving the band a little bit of a different feel than on previous efforts.

    4. Dirty Projectors - "Stillness Is The Move"

    Here is an awesome new track from Dirty Projectors' latest album Bitte Orca. On this one Amber Coffman takes the reins and provides some incredible layered vocals. But the song really comes together at the end when the strings come in, first complimenting Coffman's voice perfectly, and then leading the song to an emotional close.

    5. The National - "So Far Around The Bend"

    This one comes from the amazing Dark Was The Night compilation that was released in February to raise funds and awareness for HIV and AIDS. On an album featuring the likes of Bon Iver, Grizzly Bear, Feist, Iron and Wine, Beirut, The Arcade Fire and more, you could imagine how it would be difficult to choose a favourite song. "So Far Around The Bend" by The National and Nico Muhly is simply a wonderful track from one of the best compilations ever made. "There is no leaving New York".

    6. Pete and the Pirates - "Jennifer"

    Reading, England's Pete and the Pirates' debut album Little Death was one of the biggest surprises of 2008. The album had just the right amount of catchiness mixed with gritty rock and roll to please pop and rock lovers alike. The band's latest single is entitled "Jennifer" and this one definitely shows off more of the band's poppy side than anything else. Apparently the band members are all working on solo efforts at the moment, but hopefully they will decide to get together soon because when they do the results are usually pretty great.

    7. Olivia Ruiz - "When The Night Comes"

    Olivia Ruiz is a French, Spanish singer songwriter. She is quite unknown in North-America but in her home continent she was catapulted into the public eye when she decided to be on the very popular French TV show, Star Academy. Joining her on this excellent track from her brand new album, Miss Meteores, is another very talented singer songwriter that goes by the name of Lonely Drifter Karen. "When The Night Comes" is the product of two very talented minds combining.

    8. Bombay Bicycle Club - "Always Like This"

    Crouch End, London's Bombay Bicicle Club started making music together when the band members were no older than 15 years of age. After winning the "Road to V" competition they had the privilege of performing at the 2006 V Festival. Two EPs later the band is finally set to release their debut LP entitled, I Had The Blues But I Shook Them Loose. We expect big things for these guys in 2009 and onwards so be on the lookout for this one.

    9. Rubik - "Goji Berries"

    Rubik is one of the more interesting bands that we have come across lately. Hailing from Helsinki, Finland these guys have just released their debut album, entitled Dada Badits. Musically, they kind of sound like a mixture of Mew, M83, and Passion Pit, bringing to the table a whole slew of different instruments with soaring vocals and catchy synths. This is definitely a band to watch for.

    10. Kyte - "Eyes Lose Their Fire"

    Let's end this mixtape in grandiose fashion. This epic sounding track comes from UK electro-pop band Kyte. The song can be found on their latest album, Science For The Living which is currently only out in Japan but will be released to the rest of the world later this year.

    © 2020 Baeble Media. All rights reserved.