ALBUM REVIEW: Bat For Lashes The Bride
    • MONDAY, JUNE 27, 2016

    • Posted by: Mandi Dudek

    Set to be released on July 1st, Natasha Khan's new album The Bride will be her first album since her last release as Bat For Lashes with 2012's The Haunted Man. Even though we're a week from the album's release date, it's available to stream online now, and it's pretty damn breathtaking.

    Every Bat For Lashes album is a theatrical and mysterious production, complete with detailed characters and enthralling story lines. Khan has a way of fully inhabiting every world she creates and pulls you right in for the ride. The Bride takes you down the path of doomed romanticism alongside a bride who goes from wedding dress to widow, in moments.

    In a press release for the album: "The Bride follows the story of a woman whose fiance has been killed in a crash on the way to the church for their wedding... The Bride flees the scene to take the honeymoon trip alone, resulting in a dark meditation on love, loss, grief, and celebration."

    "I Do" is a harp-based, pivotal love song with cut-glass vocals and nuptial-themed sounds. It pulls at all your heart strings for the prettiest, saddest wedding song ever. "In God's House" is the beginning of a dark turn of events as the bride anxiously waits for her no-show groom at the chapel. The fluttering synths over an intense bassline accompany Khan's longing vocals and the song comes to an end with a piercing falsetto. "Honeymooning Alone" is a dramatic arc of utter desperation as Khan's evocative vocals power over the triumphant drum beats.

    "Sunday Love" is an upbeat goth-pop number that's nostalgic of Bat For Lashes older work. It's a drum-heavy track with galactic synths that reminds us why we fell in love with Natasha Khan's voice. "Lands End" and "In Your Bed" allow us to take a break from the darkness and slip into a more dreamy state, a point in the story where the love lost seems to have turned into a love gained. The faint and mesmerizing track, "Clouds" brings The Bride to a close in the most angelic, calming way.

    The album is experimental and beautifully executed, complete with songs that are chilling and heavily melodic, Natasha Khan has exceeded every expectation with the subtle, heartbreaking masterpiece of her moodiest album yet. Check out the tracklist, along with her Baeble session below.

    Here's the complete tracklist:

    1. I Do
    2. Joes Dream (Don't Say Goodbye)
    3. In Gods House
    4. Honeymooning Alone
    5. Sunday Love
    6. Never Forgive The Angels
    7. Close Encounters
    8. Widows Peak
    9. Lands End
    10. If I Knew
    11. I Will Love Again
    12. In Your Bed
    13. Clouds

    © 2019 Baeble Media. All rights reserved.