beck, broken social scene play fictional bands on soundtrack
    • MONDAY, JUNE 21, 2010

    • Posted by:

    Scott Pilgrim vs. The World, a movie adaptation of a comic book series by Bryan Lee O'Malley, features protagonist Scott Pilgrim (Michael Cera) as the bassist of fictional band SEX BOB-OMB. For the soundtrack Beck was hired to write all of the SEX BOB-OMB's songs, but Beck's tunes aren't the only noteworthy new tracks to be included in the movie &mdash Broken Social Scene and Metric have some previously unreleased songs in there, BSS's credited to nonexistent Crash and the Boys.

    Of course there's got to be an element of endearingly awkward incompetence, since Cera can't stray too far from his typical character, but this movie seems promising with a twist (or several) from his usual flicks. Superpowers and evil ex-boyfriends are involved, complemented by comic-book special effects and of course the star-studded soundtrack. It's due out August 13th &mdash check out the trailer and tracklist below. -selden paterson

    Tracklist for Scott Pilgrim vs. The World

    01 SEX BOB-OMB (Beck): "We Are SEX BOB-OMB"
    02 Plumtree: "Scott Pilgrim"
    03 Frank Black: "I Heard Ramona Sing"
    04 Beachwood Sparks: "By Your Side"
    05 Black Lips: "O Katrina!"
    06 Crash and the Boys (Broken Social Scene): "I'm So Sad, So Very, Very Sad"
    07 Crash and the Boys (Broken Social Scene): "We Hate You Please Die"
    08 SEX BOB-OMB (Beck): "Garbage Truck"
    09 T. Rex: "Teenage Dream"
    10 The Bluetones: "Sleazy Bed Track"
    11 Blood Red Shoes: "It's Getting Boring by the Sea"
    12 Metric: "Black Sheep"
    13 SEX BOB-OMB (Beck): "Threshold"
    14 Broken Social Scene: "Anthems for a Seventeen-Year-Old Girl"
    15 The Rolling Stones: "Under My Thumb"
    16 Beck: "Ramona (Acoustic)"
    17 Beck: "Ramona"
    18 SEX BOB-OMB (Beck): "Summertime"
    19 Brian LeBarton: "Threshold 8 Bit"

    * * * * * * * * * * * *
    Scott Pilgrim Official Site

    © 2018 Baeble Media. All rights reserved.