t.g.i.mixtape: volume 16
    • FRIDAY, MAY 29, 2009

    • Posted by:

    Who's in the mood for some new music? Here at Baeble we are always on the hunt for great new tracks and on the latest volume of our T.G.I.Mixtape series we have some brand new songs that will make your head spin. This week we have new singles from Norweigen pop star Annie and Royksopp, as well as songs by The Decemberists and Fever Ray. Be sure to play this one all the way through to the end as we may have saved the best song for last this week. Have a great weekend! -Greg Lozoff

    1. Au Revoir Simone - "Shadows"

    To start things off this week we have Au Revoir Simone's "Shadows" from their brand new album, Still Night, Still Light. While their first two albums were great introductions to the trio and their brand of sugary-sweet keyboard pop, this is perhaps their most complete album to date. Check it out.

    2. Royksopp - "The Girl and the Robot"

    This one is off of Royksopp's latest album, Junior. The song features Swedish pop singer, Robyn, who really does a good job of taking a great electro-pop song and providing just the right amount of vocals to make it that much better. Robyn is just one of the many great guest singers on Junior, so if you haven't checked this one out yet, we strongly urge you to do so.

    3. Monsters at Work - "Magic Morning"

    This mellow little beachside jam is by Brazilian DJs/producers Monsters at Work. The song can be found on Welsch illustrator Pete Fowlers new compilation album, entitled A Psychedelic Guide To Monsterism Island. Even if you haven't heard of some of the artists on this compilation, they all come together to create an extremely groovy album, setting the stage for Fowler's imaginative illustrations, but also providing us with a great album to kick back and vibe to. Super Furry Animals front-man Gruff Rhys also provides a song on the album, which is not surprising since Fowler has been designing the band's album covers for some time now.

    Realpeople - "Venice"

    Many people out there know about Zach Condon and his musical endeavors with his band Beirut. Grandiose instrumentation, oom-pah-pah like arrangements, and music that contains spices from all different regions of the world has come to be expected in his music. What is less well known is that Condon also has an affinity for some electronica here and there. Not only has he recorded with New Mexican electro-popper Alaska in Winter, but he has even been experimenting with electronica on his own under the name Realpeople. "Venice" can be found on Realpeople's debut Holland EP. If you haven't heard this and are a fan of Beirut, this one is for you.

    5. Fever Ray - "When I Grow Up"

    Fever Ray is the solo project of Karin Drejer Andersson, who you may know from her electronica group, The Knife. Andersson has shown us for some time now just how talented she is, but on her debut solo album she stands alone, giving us a clear view of her amazing musical abilities. "When I Grow Up" is the second single from this incredible debut solo effort.

    6. Iron and Wine - "Peng!"

    There hasn't been much news from folk singer-songwriter Sam Beam (Iron and WIne), since the release of his last full length, The Shepherd's Dog in 2007. While we wait for the folk idol to give us some new tracks to relax to, we can listen to his latest release, called Around The Well. This album has nothing really new on it, but what it does give us is some of Beam's best tracks that didn't make it onto his LPs. Along with some great unreleased songs and songs from some of his EPs he also gives us his versions of The Postal Service's "Such Great Heights", along with his cover of The Flaming Lips' "Waitin' For A Superman". So while this one isn't exactly full of new material, it still contains some gems.

    7. Peter Bjorn and John - "It Don't Move Me"

    While there is no whistling on this one, "It Don't Move Me" is as dancy as anything Peter Bjorn and John have put out in the past. This one can be found on the trio's latest album, entitled "Living Thing".

    8. The Decemberists - "The Hazards of Love 1 (The Prettiest Whistles Won't Wrestle the Thistles Undone)"

    The Decemberists love to write songs in parts. On The Crane Wife they had 3 parts to a song called "The Crane Wife". The epic The Tain EP was essentially one long song divided into 6 parts. On their latest album, The Hazards of Love they continue with this trend, dividing a song called "The Hazards of Love" into 4 parts this time. Here we have the first part of the song for you, with the witty title, "The Prettiest Whistles Won't Wrestle the Thistles Undone".

    9. Annie - "Anthonio"

    Here we have the insanely catchy new single from Norweigen electro-pop star Annie. Her forthcoming album, "Don't Stop", has apparently been ready for some time now, with leaked versions appearing here and there around the net, but after having label troubles the album never got an official release. From what we can tell the album will finally get released through Annie's new record label, Totally Records, this September, so keep your eyes out for that one as it is sure to be a crowd pleaser.

    10. Pheonix - "Lisztomania"

    "Lisztomania" is the lead track from Phoenix's excellent new album, Wolfgang Amadeus Phoeix. Apparently "Lisztomania" is term that was coined to define how people would react when Hungarian composer Franz Liszt would perform back in the 1800's. I'm not sure where it fits into this song, but lyrics aside this song is just plain catchy. And apparently the lyrics are actually, "like a riot, like a riot oh!" and not "like a rhi, like a rhinooo!" as I have been singing for the past week. Woops!

    © 2018 Baeble Media. All rights reserved.