t.g.i.mixtape: volume 12
    • FRIDAY, MAY 01, 2009

    • Posted by:

    It's summer in the city! Well not quite yet, but it sure feels like it. Warm weather, flowers blooming, birds everywhere and a hefty amount of pollen to make sure we aren't getting to much enjoyment out of it all. So to complement the nice weather we have our latest volume of our T.G.I.Mixtape series for you. We hope you enjoy this as much as we have enjoyed sifting through all the wonderful music flowing through the office these days. Greg Lozoff and David Pitz

    1. Apostle of Hustle - "Soul Unwind"

    Let's kick things off with Apostle of Hustle's "Soul Unwind". The band, which is made up of Andrew Whiteman (Broken Social Scene's lead guitarist), Julian Brown (Feist's bassist) and Dean Stone (Amy Milan's drummer), are set to release their latest album, Eats Darkness on May 19th. We have a first taste of the album for you in the form of "Soul Unwind"; a fast-paced melding of jazz, funk and rock that really gets the blood flowing.

    2. William Fitzsimmons - "I Don't Feel It Anymore (Song Of The Sparrow)"

    In this silky rumination from his recently released album The Sparrow and the Crow, Pittsburgh native William Fitzsimmons taps Priscilla Ahn to help take listeners down the crumbling road of a relationship on the brink of extinction. What lies at the end though, is certainly not the stuff of happy endings. Nostalgia, bitterness, heartache; all find a way to nestle on into this song, with overwhelming affect

    3. Venice is Sinking - "Okay"

    Hailing from Athens, GA, Venice is Sinking isn't exactly new on the scene. In fact, they released their first LP, Sorry About The Flowers, back in 2006. On AZAR, the band's latest release, it appears these orchestral rockers have really come into their own. "Okay" is an uplifting, trumpet driven track, with lead singer Daniel Lawson's smooth vocals leading the way, while Karolyn Troupe's Regine Chassagne-esque backup vocals compliment things perfectly.

    4. Wye Oak - "Take It In"

    Baltimore's Wye Oak might not be releasing their sophomore effort The Knot until July 21st, but that doesn't mean we can't give you a jump start on hearing one of its' tracks. See sawing between a lightened buoy of a verse, and a meatier, burnt blues chorus, Andy Stack and Jenn Wasner certainly implore the listener to "Take It In". Clocking in at nearly 6 minutes, the multi-instrumentalist duo give you plenty of time to do it too.

    5. Years - "The Major Lift"

    "The Major Lift" is one of the most exciting songs on Do Make Say Think and Broken Social Scene member Ohad Benchetrit's debut solo album under the Years moniker. The song has many ups and downs, at times building from nothing into these huge walls of sound, finally coming to an end when you least expect it. And this is just one of the many incredible tracks from Years' self titled album. It only makes sense that someone as talented as Benchetrit would put out an album of this quality considering his musical track record. This one comes highly recommended.

    6. The Pains of Being Pure at Heart - "Young Adult Friction"

    These quaint Brooklynites dress their infectious bits of guitar pop up in the kind of woozy and nostalgic dreads we're hoping never go out of fashion. Listen to "Young Adult Friction" here, then hop over to our Concert Section to see these sweethearts in action at the Music Hall of Williamsburg.

    7. A Camp - "Love Has Left The Room"

    Are there any Cardigans fans out there? If so, then
    A Camp is for you. A Camp is the solo project of lead Cardigan Nina Persson and her latest album, Colonia, has been generating a lot of talk these days. Judging by this song, it may just be warranted.

    8. Harlem Shakes - Strictly Game

    Harlem Shakes certainly have game. From their recently released album Technicolor Health, "Strictly Game" somehow manages to squeeze street corner jazz blasts, delightfully cheesy synth rhythms, playful vocal harmonies, and even a dash of merengue into its' four minute frame. This will certainly "be a better year" for this very promising NYC band.

    9. FOMA - "Seraphim Succubi"

    I don't know if it's the strings that make FOMA such a lovely band to listen to, but they certainly help. Led by Hun Kim on cello, Charith Premawardhana on viola and the lovely voices of Edward M. Burch and Chani Hawthorne, "Seraphim Succubi" is a dreamy piece of orchestral pop, from the band's new album Inverness. The album hits stores on May 5th so be sure to watch for it.

    10 Nomo - Invisible Cities

    NOMO want you to get down with your bad self, and the Michigan based nu-jazz/funk outfit have provided the perfect track for making that happen. Stripped from the band's upcoming release Invisible Cities, the title track offered here is quite the work out of organic percussion, brazened horns, and twangy guitar.

    © 2019 Baeble Media. All rights reserved.