Shamir Almost Quits Music, Then Drops Surprise Album
    • MONDAY, APRIL 17, 2017

    • Posted by: Kirsten Spruch

    Indie pop singer Shamir bounced to fame pretty quickly after the release of his debut album Ratchet. Although his music is pop on the surface, you could always hear that inner lo-fi indie in it... There was something slightly off-kilter that made it feel like it could fit at an underground DIY venue as well as a stadium all at once. But of course, like many new artists, love for music can change when you're suddenly on the other side of it. Shamir claims that last week, because of this doubt, he was going to quit music altogether, but that ultimately led Shamir to write, record, produce, and mix an entire album on his own. It's raw and rough, but you can tell it's written in the moment. What it lacks in production is made up for with authenticity and soul, and finally it feels like Shamir is being the artist he wants to be. It's funny how music's most degrading moments can result in the most promising creative output.

    He posted a message on SoundCloud along with the album:

    "I was gonna quit music this weekend. From day 1 it was clear i was an accidental pop star. I loved the idea of it, i mean who doesn't? Still the wear of staying polished with how im presented and how my music was presented took a huge toll on me mentally. I started to hate music, the thing i loved the most! When i would listen to immaculate recordings with my friends their praise over the quality of the art as opposed to the art itself made me feel really sad for music as a medium in general. My music only feels exciting for me if its in the moment, and thats what this album is. I made this album this past weekend stuck in my room with just a 4 track feeling hopeless about my love for music. Im not gonna lie, this album is hard to listen to, but it was even harder for me to share. I love pop music, i love outsider music, and i love lofi music, this is my way of combining all 3. Anyway I played, wrote, produced, and mixed everything and big thanks to Kieran Ferris for Mastering an album with an hours notice! its free! Enjoy! Love Yall! Still more 2 come!!!!!!!"


    1. Hope
    2. What Else
    3. Ignore Everything
    4. Tom Kelly
    5. Easier
    6. Like A Bird
    7. One More Time Won't Kill You
    8. I Fucking Hate You
    9. Rain (Blake Babies Cover)
    10. Bleed It Out

    © 2020 Baeble Media. All rights reserved.