t.g.i.mixtape: volume 7
    • FRIDAY, MARCH 27, 2009

    • Posted by:

    It's that time again! As usual we have been listening to as much music around here as is humanly possible. We have again picked our favorite songs of the week to bring to you our 7th installment of our T.G.I.Mixtape series. We hope you have been enjoying them so far because it has been a blast putting these together for you. This week's mixtape has some new tracks that will get you up out of your chair and some tracks that it's better to just lay back, close your eyes and get lost in the music. Please enjoy, listen as many times as you'd like and feel free to drop us some comments at the bottom. Have a good weekend! -Greg Lozoff

    1. Dustin O'Halloran - Waltz #1

    We here at Baeble have been big fans of Dustin O'Halloran's music for some time now. We were even more excited when we heard that he had had written the score to the new movie entitled An American Affair, staring Gretchen Mol, Noah Wyle and Cameron Bright. Here is the first piece from the film's soundtrack which is available now on Itunes should you want to hear more. Or you could just go see the film. The choice is yours.

    2. Cotton Jones - Gone The Bells

    Cotton Jones has been one of our most exciting discoveries of the new year. Everybody knows how great Page France was. It's now time to take all of that love and transfer it to Michael Nau's new project, because they are quite deserving of it. Gone the Bells is our favorite track from the band's excellent debut LP, Paranoid Cocoon.

    3. Human Highway - The Sound

    Human Highway is the result of two amazingly talented individuals coming together to make music. First we have the Juno Award Nominated Jim Guthrie, who has been writing songs continuously since the mid 90's. And by his side is the amazingly talented Nick Thorburn (Islands, The Unicorns). Their debut album, Moody Motorcycle, was recorded in Guthrie's apartment in just a week. The results are pretty amazing.

    4. Super Furry Animals - Inaugural Trams

    Psychedelic rock gods Super Furry Animals have been churning out brilliant music for almost two decades now. What's even more amazing is that no two albums are alike. This track is the band's first single off of their brand new LP Dark Days/Light Years. The song is definitely one of their odder numbers, but a fun little jam nonetheless. Anybody speak German?

    5. Passion Pit - Sleepyhead

    This song is just purely addictive. It's also possibly the best song from the band's debut Chunk of Change EP. Have you heard that Passion Pit is releasing their debut LP next month? If you didn't know...now you do.

    6. The Golden Filter - Solid Gold

    We have been playing this song on repeat for some time now. There is just something mysterious and kind of magical about it. This band must really have an obsession with gold. We can't wait to hear what these guys put out next.

    7. The Great Lake Swimmers - Pulling on a Line

    Tony Dekker and friends are on the cusp of releasing their fourth full length album, entitled Lost Channels/. This song, which can be heard on the album, is sort of catchier than anything they've done in the past. Listen to that mandolin!

    8. The Felice Brothers - Run Chicken Run

    Talk about a great band of brothers. "Run Chicken Run" is a track from the Felice Brothers' forthcoming album, Yonder is the Clock. A nice blend of country and rock and roll, some great accordion, fiddle, and brother Ian's raspy voice makes this one hell of a song.

    9. Horse Feathers - Curs in the Weeds

    This isn't exactly a new one but it's still a lovely song. This song is on Horse Feathers' highly recommended latest release House With No Home. The album is full of tracks like this that will put you completely at ease.

    10. Peter Doherty - Arcady

    Peter Doherty, who you may know better as Babyshambles/Libertines front-man, or perhaps from those trashy tabloid magazines, has released his first ever solo record. The album is called Grace/Wastelands and this little acoustic number is the lead-off track. This album shows that despite everything that has been said about Doherty, he is still quite an excellent musician.

    © 2019 Baeble Media. All rights reserved.