A Brief History of The Flaming Lips' Musical Experiments
    • TUESDAY, FEBRUARY 05, 2013

    • Posted by: Stephen Cardone

    What will they do next? The Flaming Lips are constantly seeking new ways to innovate and now Wayne Coyne is at it again in his constant pursuit of reinvention. First, a brief history lesson is required.

    In 1997, The Lips released a landmark album titled Zaireeka that was contained on four separate CDs. The format was relatively young at the time and Wayne took the opportunity to experiment with its capabilities. The resulting album could be experienced in multiple ways. Eschewing traditional structure in favor of a more "unique" approach, the four CDs could be played simultaneously in order to produce harmonic frequencies. It set a precedent for the band, and their ability to re-imagine traditional forms became an essential component of everything they have done since.

    Following Zaireeka, the live show quickly became The Flaming Lips' favored format for creating new experiences. Utilizing lasers, lights, confetti, stage props, and the infamous inflatable balloon that allows Wayne to traverse the crowd in their concerts propelled them to a new level of live prestige. Five albums and 16 years later, it appears as though the Lips are unsatisfied with the limitations of the physical compact disc and are now seeking new and exciting ways to "fuck around" with their music.

    Their newfound freedom has recently allowed Wayne the opportunity to do some really interesting things with music, pop art, and food. First, the band released two variations of gummy skulls containing USBs with new music, the second of which contained a marijuana flavored brain. Following the success of that project, Wayne and Co. distributed gummy fetuses and vaginas containing excessive USBs filled with music. After the announcement of their new album The Terror, a slew of information was released, including a Hyundai commercial and a non-album track titled "Sun Blows Up Today," which received a colorful lyric video. In order to keep the hype machine running, Wayne decided to do something crazy (again). A new 15-song mix titled Songs of Love has been hidden inside a realistic chocolate heart containing mini whoppers and a waffle cone crunch just in time for Valentine's Day. The mix features an eclectic selection of artists including Stardeath, White Dwarfs, and Magnetic Zeros. This should be a perfect gift for your psychedelic lover. Check out two of the tracks below.

    Songs of Love Tracklist:

    01. Love is Mind Control (feat. Stardeath and White Dwarfs)
    02. Be My Head
    03. Cant Exist
    04. Hit Me Like You Did the First Time
    05. Let Me Be It
    06. Moth in the Incubator
    07. Sunship Balloons
    08. Thanks to You
    09. Spiderbite Song
    10. When You Smile
    11. With You
    12. Pomeii am Gotterdammerung
    13. What Is the Light?
    14. Just Above Love
    15. All You Need Is Love (feat. Alex and Jade of Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros)

    © 2019 Baeble Media. All rights reserved.