Stream: Deerhunter
    • FRIDAY, FEBRUARY 03, 2012

    • Posted by: Malcolm Donaldson

    Deerhunter is always expanding their sound to include new styles, concepts and collaborations, and this expansion continues on their latest song, "Curve." This instrumental track is released as part of a forthcoming benefit compilation "to support Japan and its ongoing efforts to heal post-tsunami." "Curve" is a departure from the typically guitar driven music of Deerhunter. The ambient rhythm is calm without being boring, punctuated by Eno-derived bell and feedback noises. Just when the song becomes hypnotic, a slow and swelling beat comes in to bring the song to an abrupt stop.

    We Are The Works In Progress is put together by Blonde Redhead, and will be the debut release of the band's label Asa Wa Kuru. The fourteen song compilation features music from Interpol, Four Tet, Liars among others. The compilation is due out on 2/7, but you can pre-order the digital/vinyl now on their website. Proceeds benefit Japan Society Earthquake Relief Fund and Architecture For Humanity.

    We Are The Works In Progress:

    01. Moma - Four Tet
    02. No Face - Karin Dreijer Andersson
    03. G Song - Terry Riley
    04. Nightcrawler - Nosaj Thing
    05. Berceuse - John Roberts
    06. Penny Sparkle - Blonde Redhead
    07. Bird On A Wire - Pantha Du Prince
    08. In Here The World Begins - Broadcast
    09. Drip - Liars/Blonde Redhead
    10. Curve - Deerhunter
    11. Stalagmite - Stalactite
    12. Castles In The Grave - John Maus
    13. Bamboo House - David Sylvain/Ryuichi Sakamoto
    14. Song Seven - Interpol

    © 2018 Baeble Media. All rights reserved.