animal collective flush out new ep
    • FRIDAY, FEBRUARY 29, 2008

    • Posted by:

    Ah springtime…A time of rebirth and rejuvenation…A time to shed winter’s ball and chain in favor of more pastoral possibilities. Ain’t it grand? It is....especially considering this bit of information. Seems the warm weather bug will pack a mighty bite this year, stirring Animal Collective from their post Strawberry Jam hibernation. That mighty chomp will bear down May 6th, and with it, the band will drop the Water Curses EP on the world. Containing four new tracks on CD/12", Water Curses finds Animal Collective “exploring strange new waters”…as if they’ve never plunged into strange new depths before. Check out the track by track descriptions, courtesy of Motormouth, offered below. – David Pitz

    Water Curses EP
    1. Water Curses
    2. Street Flash
    3. Cobwebs
    4. Seal Eyeing

    Water Curses sees the band's capacity for re-imaging their constituent parts into ever more interesting and saturated shapes go up by a giddy notch. All four tracks have a more stripped down feel than their recent work, opener "Water Curses" takes an unexpected rhythm and throws it up, down and sideways to produce the sound of a smile. A technique that Animal Collective are now in a position to call their own.

    "Street Flash" is nearly seven minutes of spaced out hollers, electronics and lullabies that luxuriate in a chord sequence running through a delay that sounds like it's made of honey. Threatening to explode but laying back on itself instead the track is like a particularly lucid dream.

    "Cobwebs" is equally languid. Weaving itself around a vocal that sounds like it's imagining some new kind of space church for Al Green to conduct weddings until it slowly fades away into a sticky ether. The EP's final track takes the celestial feel into even more blissed-out states. "Seal Eyeing" is the moment you realize watching vapor trails melt into the sky is not only the most constructive thing you can do, but the only real option that's left.”

    * * * * * * * * * * * *
    Animal Collective on MySpace

    © 2019 Baeble Media. All rights reserved.