Single Serving: St. Vincent's 'Birth In Reverse'
    • MONDAY, DECEMBER 09, 2013

    • Posted by: Matt Howard

    Its title will evoke some serious cringes, but St. Vincent's new single "Birth In Reverse" is an impulsively buoyant party pop jam. With it, Annie Clark has announced a self-titled solo album to follow-up 2011's Strange Mercy, as well as her two-year collaborative stint with David Byrne.

    "I wanted to make a party record you could play at a funeral," Clark stated. "I Knew the groove needed to be paramount."

    We'd say she succeeded as "Birth In Reverse" is a dance-worthy groove attached to her voice's palpable sincerity. Listen below:

    St. Vincent Tracklisting:
    1. Rattlesnake
    2. Birth In Reverse
    3. Prince Johnny
    4. Huey Newton
    5. Digital Witness
    6. I Prefer Your Love
    7. Regret
    8. Bring Me Your Loves
    9. Psychopath
    10. Every Tear Disappears
    11. Severed Crossed Fingers

    St. Vincent is due out February 25th via Loma Vista.

    © 2019 Baeble Media. All rights reserved.