The xx Let Jamie Take The Lead on New Single 'On Hold'
    • THURSDAY, NOVEMBER 10, 2016

    • Posted by: Gabe Paoletti

    British indie pop band The xx has been injecting their experimental pop sound into the pop culture landscape in the late 2000s, with a series of hits singles and popular albums. The band has not released an album since their commercial critical success in 2012: Coexist. That album featured an EDM influenced sound. Since then, breakout member and producer Jamie xx released In Colour, an album chock full of summer hits.

    Now, with an upcoming group album, entitled I See You, the band has reunited and is drawing on many of the sounds present on Jamie's album. With their new single "On Hold," the band is using the same type of EDM structure and sampled vocals that were utilized on In Colour. The use of these sounds creates a maximalist song that is immensely danceable and positive. Fans of Jamie xx's solo project will undoubtedly enjoy the track, though those looking for a more traditional The xx project may be disappointed.

    Interestingly, this is track seems to be a departure from the snippets from the album released in the runup to their album announcement. These tracks, only a number of seconds long, were released on Spotify without any band or song name, and were only found in the band's Spotify playlist. These snippets incorporate a number of different sounds, including nods to ambient and dream pop. While these might just be the initial versions of these tracks, they tease an album that blends a number of different electronic sounds and genres. The band has also released a tracklist and a date for their album release, January 13th.

    I See You Tracklist:

    1. "Dangerous"
    2. "Say Something Loving"
    3. "Lips"
    4. "A Violent Noise"
    5. "Performance"
    6. "Replica"
    7. "Brave For You"
    8. "On Hold"
    9. "I Dare You"
    10. "Test Me"

    © 2019 Baeble Media. All rights reserved.