Thundercat Announces Third Studio Album 'Drunk'
    • WEDNESDAY, JANUARY 25, 2017

    • Posted by: Jack Labbe

    The Grammy Winning singer/bassist Thundercat brings us to the "edge of darkness" on "Show You The Way." If you thought it was cool when Arcade Fire got Mavis Staples to sing on their latest single, Thundercat shows them who's boss, getting 80's pop legends Michael Mcdonald and Kenny Loggins to each sing a sultry verse on his new track. Upon first listen, I wasn't sure if Thundercat was just doing really good impressions of the singers, but apparently he's been a fan of theirs for years. He told Red Bull Music Academy Daily that after convincing Kenny Loggins that he wanted to work with him, and that he wasn't in-fact punking the singer, Kenny decided that Michael McDonald would also be a good fit for the track.

    The track is funky and lighthearted, like a lot of Thundercat's music. Before each singer begins, Thundercat introduces them in a sensual MC voice, saying "Ladies and gentlemen Michael McDonald." The album title Drunk even toes the line between humour and sincerity. But one thing is for sure, Thundercat has some very serious collaborators on this upcoming album with artists like Wiz Khalifa, Kendrick Lamar, Pharrell and Kamasi Washington. You can pre-order the album now, with an expected release date of February 24th.


    01. Rabbot Ho
    02. Captain Stupido
    03. Uh Uh
    04. Bus In These Streets
    05. A Fan's Mail (Tron Song Suite II)
    06. Lava Lamp
    07. Jethro
    08. Day & Night
    09. Show You The Way (feat. Michael McDonald & Kenny Loggins)
    10. Walk On By (feat. Kendrick Lamar)
    11. Blackkk
    12. Tokyo
    13. Jameel's Space Ride
    14. Friend Zone
    15. Them Changes
    16. Where I'm Going
    17. Drink Dat (feat. Wiz Khalifa)
    18. Inferno
    19. I Am Crazy
    20. 3AM
    21. Drunk
    22. The Turn Down (feat. Pharrell)
    23. DUI

    © 2020 Baeble Media. All rights reserved.