Loading the player...


Show Review

Jason Molinas sparse songs have always had an undeniable, stop and take notice quality to them. On Songs: Ohias Back On Top a group of companions do just that.

Artist Bio

After retiring Songs: Ohia, Jason Molina started up Magnolia Electric Co, a new avenue to explore his country-rock. The name of the new group was taken from the title of the last Songs: Ohia record and proved to be the appropriate connection from the past to the next phase of Molina's projects. The early makeup of the four-piece band in 2003 consisted of Pete Schreiner (Panoply Academy, Coke Dares) on drums, Mike Kapinus (Okkervil River) on bass and trumpet, Jason Groth (Impossible Shapes, John Wilkes Booze, Coke Dares) on guitar, and Jason Molina providing the other guitar and vocals. Magnolia Electric Co recorded Trials & Errors live in Brussels in 2003, which Secretly Canadian released in January of 2005. With later tours, Magnolia Electric Co shifted the lineup of the band, adding Mark Rice (Impossible Shapes, John Wilkes Booze) on drums and moving Schreiner to bass and Kapinus to trumpet and keyboards, while Groth and Molina remained on guitar. Magnolia Electric Co's full-length studio debut appeared to glowing reviews in spring 2005 via Secretly Canadian. The band didn't slow down, touring for most of the summer and issuing the five-song EP Hard to Love a Man in October. The band released Fading Trails in September of 2006.


About this Video

  • Duration:
  • 4:28
  • Views:
  • 2,458
Songs Ohia Magnolia Electric Co

© 2018 Baeble Media. All rights reserved.