Artist bio

Warpaint weave intricate guitar lines, hypnotic vocals and driving post punk rhythms into gorgeous, sprawling songs that skirt the line between psychedelia and intimacy. Both live and on record, Warpaint sound like they're channeling something truly otherworldly, and mystical. Rough Trade released their long-awaited debut full-length album The Fool in October 2010.

Recorded in LA, The Fool was produced by Tom Biller (Beck, Karen O, Liars), with further mixes from Andrew Weatherall (New Order, Primal Scream, Bjork) and Adam Samuels (John Frusciante, Daniel Lanois). The Fool follows their Exquisite Corpse EP, released in 2009.

Following its release in October, Spin magazine gave The Fool an 8 out of 10 rating, while Pitchfork called it "a nine-song seance of an album that's as subtle as it is disquieting." Within the past year, Warpaint has been featured on the cover of NME magazine and was named one of BBC's "15 Most Promising Artists of 2011".

There is an incomparable chemistry between the three longtime friends (vocalists/guitarists Emily Kokal and Theresa Wayman, bassist/vocalist Jenny Lee Lindberg) and the piston-like drummer (Stella Mozgawa) that got the group to proclaim "where've you been all our lives?" after a rehearsal or two. Stella did not become Warpaint's steady drummer until The Fool's final demo stages.

While they've gone through several drummers and countless sonic shifts since their West Coast start six years ago, one thing has remained certain about the all girl-quartet from Los Angeles: the goose bump-producing power of their live show, which has reduced many rooms to rubble in recent years. Warpaint has toured incessantly over the last couple of years with standout performances at CMJ, SXSW, Lollapalooza, Bonnaroo, as well as the Leeds, Reading and Laneway festivals. They have also shared the stage with The xx, Band of Horses, Yeasayer, Akron/Family, Javelin, and The Walkmen.

Warpaint is Emily Kokal (vocals/guitar), Theresa Wayman (vocals/guitar), Jenny Lee Lindberg (bass/vocals), and Stella Mozgawa (drums).