Turbo Negro

Artist bio

They said it could never happen, but Turbonegro's men of denim are back. Like a Japanese salaryman rubbing himself up against you on a busy Tokyo commuter train, the Norwegian-five piece are bringing Sexual Harassment into your life with their ninth studio album, released through Universal and Volcom Entertainment on 13 July. Write about what you know, they say and who knows more about Sexual Harassment both giving and receiving than Oslo's kings of death-punk.

Preceded by the infectious new single You Give Me Worms, released on 5 May, Sexual Harassment is the sound of five men locked in a room for a fortnight, and nature taking its sweaty, sultry course. The sense of good times is dripping from every song, and the result is a truly great Turbonegro record that marks the start of a new era. It's the old band, it's a new band - sounding bigger, mightier and hairier than ever!

The ten songs, recorded at Electric Lady Studios in New York, showcase their roots in hardcore punk and 1980s alternative music, as well as the thrift-store riffs of The Stooges and The Stones, platform-booted glitter rock, and spectacular bubblegum radio music of any era - all executed with an attitude that's unmistakably Turbonegro. But thanks to additions of the human dynamo that is Tommy Manboy on drums, and the refined, gentlemanly growl of the Duke of Nothing, Tony Sylvester, on vocals, this is a lineup with both eyes firmly on the future. As Euroboy, Turbo's lord of the riff, says: Being in a good rock band is unbeatable, and thanks to Tony we can do it with pride and dignity. To me, he sounds like Lemmy traveling in first class and continues; We recorded this album as five friends together on the studio floor, everyone liking eachother and the music, and it hasn't been like that for over a decade. i think the sense of good times is dripping from every song.

At just 32 minutes, Sexual Harassment is a short, sharp shock and reveals the dizzying pace this new lineup operates at, with the album released only six months after Tony was first enlisted to the cause.
But don't worry if you're thinking such a brief encounter will leave you feeling unsatisfied. After all, that's almost as long as Group Sex and Meet the Beatles combined. A Circle Jerk with the Fab Four? When Turbonegro are in Sexual Harassment mode, anything can happen

Recorded by Gus Oberg in Electric Lady Studios, NYC, January 2012
Produced by Matt Sweeney
Mixed in Malabar Studio, Oslo by Nick Terry
Arwork by Martin Kvamme, Gardar Eide Einarsson, Matias Faldbakken
Label partners: Universal Music (Norway, Sweden , Finland), Volcom Entertainment (rest of the world)
Album release date: 13 June

Tony Sylvester AKA Duke Of Nothing vocals
Euroboy lead guitar
Rune Rebellion rhythm guitar
Happy-Tom bassTommy Manboy drums