Artist bio

Gomez are an English indie rock band from Southport, comprising Ian Ball (vocals, guitar), Paul Blackie Blackburn (bass), Tom Gray (vocals, guitars, keyboards), Ben Ottewell (vocals, guitars) and Olly Peacock (drums, synths, computers). The band is distinguished for having three singers and four songwriters, employing traditional and electronic instruments. Their sound is versatile and evades typical music genres falling into blues, indie, alternative, rock, folk, psychedelic and experimental.

After signing to Hut records in September '97, the band entered Parr Street Studios with engineer Ken Nelson recording new songs and improving upon previously produced demos. Released in 1998, their debut album, Bring It On, was a surprise success, peaking at No. 11 on the U.K. Albums chart. It was certified platinum by the BPI and won the Mercury Music Prize in September 1998. Get Myself Arrested and Whippin' Piccadilly were later released as singles.

After winning the Mercury Prize the band went back to Parr Street Studios pressing on with recording as much material as they could between tours. Ken Nelson engineered once again and the band self-produced their second album, Liquid Skin. Released in 1999, Liquid Skin, found further success on the British charts, peaking at No. 2, as well as making the Billboard Heatseekers Albums chart for the first time. The album went platinum and extensive touring followed.

The group's third album, In Our Gun, was released in 2002. It made the Top 10 on the U.K. chart as well as the Top 40 on the Billboard Heatseekers Albums chart. The single Shot Shot charted in the U.K Top 40 and the Billboard Heatseekers Singles chart.

While Gomez's first three albums had been self-produced, the band decided to work with Tchad Blake as producer for their fourth record, 2004s Split the Difference. Blake had previously produced albums by Tom Waits, Crowded House and Pearl Jam. The album reached the Top 40 in the U.K. The first single Catch Me Up entered the U.K. Top 40 and Silence was released as the second single.

Virgin/EMI closed down Hut Recordings and Gomez was released from their contract. They then signed to ATO Records.

Their studio album, How We Operate was released in 2006 having been produced by Gil Norton. The record was developed in the band's Studio and later recorded in six weeks at RAK Studios, London. Several of the tracks from the album have been featured on television episodes.

A New Tide, released in 2009, featured a number of illustrious guest musicians, including vocalist Amy Millan (of Stars/Broken Social Scene), bassist Josh Abrams (The Roots, Sam Prekop, Godspeed You Black Emperor!), cellist Oliver Krauss (Tom McRae, David Gray, Paul Weller, Beth Orton), and multi-instrumentalist Stuart Bogie of Brooklyn's world renowned Antibalas Afrobeat Orchestra. The album debuted at No. 60 on the Billboard 200 Albums chart, their highest entry to date.

In 2011 the band released their seventh studio album, Whatevers on Your Mind. It reached No. 25 on the Billboard Independent Albums chart.