Artist bio

Friends is a band from Brooklyn, New York formed in September 2010. The band, originally named Perpetual Crush, consists of Samantha Urbani (vocals), Lesley Hann (bass, percussion, backing vocals), Nikki Shapiro (guitar, keyboards, percussion), Matthew Molnar (keyboards, percussion, bass), Oliver Duncan (drums).

The group released the singles "Friend Crush" and "I'm His Girl" in 2011. On April 10, 2012, BBC Radio 1 DJ Huw Stephens selected the band's third single, "Mind Control", as his Hottest Record in the World.

Friends were named one of NME's top 50 artists of 2011 and were nominated for the BBC's poll 'Sound of 2012'. Their music has been described as eclectic; "One moment it's indie pop, the next it's mutant funk, then disco - something that sounds only of itself, even as the echoes of the past flit through the songs."

In October 2012, Friends embarked on tour with Irish band Two Door Cinema Club as their opening act; the tour consisted of dates throughout the United States and Canada. In September 2012, it was announced that Lesley Hann, now former bassist to the band, would no longer be part of Friends and would not be joining them on tour. Berlinerin musician V replaced Hann for the tour. Along with Hann, keyboardist and percussionist Matthew Molnar also left the band; he was replaced by, former drummer of Real Estate and current member of Splash, Etienne Duguay. As another addition, Sasha Winn accompanied the band on tour as backup vocalist. Whether these members are now permanent additions to Friends has not been officially commented on by any of the band's members.