Film School

Artist bio

Film School is a five-piece indie rock band from San Francisco, California.

The band was formed in the late-1990s by lead singer Greg Bertens [aka Krayg Burton]. Initially the band only consisted of Bertens working with members of Fuck and Pavement when they released their debut album Brilliant Career on MeToo! records in 2001. Jason Ruck (keyboards), Nyles Lannon (guitarist), Justin Labo (bass guitar), and Ben Montesano (drums) joined the band on a permanent basis later that year.

In 2003, the band released Alwaysnever, an EP on Amazing Grease Records, a record label founded by Scott Kannberg from the band Pavement. Donny Newenhouse later replaced Montesano on drums. Their self-titled album was released in January 2006 on Beggars Banquet Records. Film School has also provided music for a series of short films by Demetri Martin, known collectively as "Clearification", an advertising campaign for Windows Vista.

Film School released its third album (its second on Beggars Banquet) called Hideout in September 2007 after going through some line-up changes. Lorelei Plotczyk / Lorelei Meetze replaced Justin Labo on bass, Dave Dupuis replaced Nyles Lannon on guitar, and James Smith replaced Donny Newenhouse on drums. Hideout was recorded with Dan Long and mixed by Phil Ek.

The fourth Album, Fission, was released on Hi-Speed Soul in August 2010 to mixed reviews as the band's exploration of new territory delighted some at the same time as it disappointed others.