Dios Malos

Artist bio

Hawthorne, CA's Dios consists of guitarists/vocalists Kevin and Joel Morales, bassist John Paul Caballero, keyboardist Jimmy Cabeza DeVaca, and drummer Jackie Monzon. The band hails from the same town that spawned the Beach Boys, Emitt Rhodes, and Black Flag, and the former two artists' trippy wistfulness, and the latter band's D.I.Y. aesthetic all influence Dios' approach. The group formed in 2002 and began recording in Caballero's basement, issuing the Arboles EP in late 2003 on Dim Mak. Meanwhile, the group also continued to play live, appearing on bills with bands including Pinback, the New Amsterdams, and the Polyphonic Spree. Dios was also tipped as one of NME's 50 bands to watch in 2004, shortly before their self-titled full-length debut was released by Star Time Records. In summer 2004, guitarist Ronnie James Dio served Dios with a cease and desist order, citing potential confusion over his own outfit's name Dio and the younger group's moniker. In response, Dios changed their name to Dios Malos.