Aberdeen City

Artist bio

Aberdeen City takes its name from the Aberdeen Architectural Conservation District of Boston, an area in which the four-piece band lived after forming in 2001. Comprised of Ryan Heller (guitar), Chris McLaughlin (guitar, vocals), Rob McCaffrey (drums) and Brad Parker (vocals/bass), the group built its initial fan-base with 2003's self-produced, self-released We Learned By Watching EP. Their debut LP, The Freezing Atlantic, was recorded during the winter of 2005 and released that fall by Dovecote Records.

After receiving favorable reviews and winning several Boston-based awards, Aberdeen City was approached by producer Steve Lillywhite about re-recording several tracks. After working with Lillywhite in the studio, the band re-released The Freezing Atlantic on Sony's Red Ink label on August 8, 2006.