8 Bizarre Band Names And The Stories Behind Them
    • FRIDAY, AUGUST 04, 2017

• Posted by: Caroline Bojarski

For years I've been wanting to start a band. Not because I'm a talented musician who expresses herself through her work, but because I have a mental list of killer band names that are going tragically unused.

When it comes to music, names are incredibly important. More than once, I have picked an artist out of a playlist or a seemingly endless rotation of ‘suggestions for you' solely because of their unusual name.

Not only can a bizarre moniker help a band get attention in the overcrowded vaults of the Internet, it can also set the tone of your expectations for the band's sound… only to (sometimes) shatter those expectations while nevertheless gaining your support for the band. I still remember how shocked I was back in middle school to find that The Grateful Dead weren't a metal band. The name just seemed to imply deafening chords and screeching vocals.

There are band names that ooze pretentious hipster vibes (Bon Iver), ‘band' names that disguise a solo project (Marina & The Diamonds), and band names that give you an excuse to swear (Fuck Buttons). Here are the stories behind some of my favorite eye catching band names.

1. Portugal. The Man

The indie rock group wanted to create a single alter-ego who represented the four members of the band. They decided on 'Portugal' because a country is theoretically representative of all the people who live in it. I guess this name is like a bad tattoo because the band once said in an interview, "...we have regretted it (the name) ever since".

2. Free Cake For Every Creature