David Bowie Celebrates 66th Birthday With a Stellar Announcement
  • TUESDAY, JANUARY 08, 2013

  • Posted by: Matt Howard

Eight days in, and 2013 is already proving to be one hell of a year (musically at least). Today, on his 66th birthday, the one-and-only David Bowie announced his first album in 10 years with a new song and music video entitled "Where Are We Now?" The new song is one of 14 tracks to be packed into his March release, The Next Day.

The Next Day finds Bowie back in the saddle with production confidant Tony Visconti, who has historically worked with Thin White Duke (Space Oddity, Young Americans, and Scary Monsters to his more recent Heathen and Reality).

Let all the "cool" kids foam at the mouth for yesterday's Atoms For Peace surprise. Thanks to Bowie, we know what we're looking forward to this spring.

The "Where Are We Now?" video provides us with the warmth of a somber, late-era Bowie. Unlike his aging, rock-god peers (cough-Rolling Stones-cough) Bowie seems to continue to grow aesthetically (and doesn't look like my grandma). With The Next Day being his 30th studio album, we've seen Mr. Stardust bare quite a few eccentric faces. Ironically, as you'll notice in the album artwork (above), Bowie's image is concealed. It's hard to imagine living so many lives, and perhaps he's having difficulty determining which he should continue to carry. "Where Are We Now?" reflects by asking these questions.

The Next Day will be released March 12, and you can pre-order the standard or deluxe (three additional tracks) now.

Let us all commence in a unified rain dance in hope for a tour. It goes a little somethin' like this...

The Next Day Tracklist:

1. "The Next Day"
2. "Dirty Boys"
3. "The Stars (Are Out Tonight)"
4. "Love Is Lost"
5. "Where Are We Now?"
6. "Valentine's Day"
7. "If You Can See Me"
8. "I'd Rather Be High"
9. "Boss of Me"
10. "Dancing Out in Space"
11. "How Does the Grass Grow"
12. "(You Will) Set the World on Fire"
13. "You Feel So Lonely You Could Die"
14. "Heat"
Bonus tracks:
15. "So She"
16. "I'll Take You There"
17. "Plan"

© 2017 Baeble Media. All rights reserved.