new music: guards
  • THURSDAY, JANUARY 27, 2011

  • Posted by: Siobhan Fludder

New York City is often the host of sonic breeding for musical creations, and has done so once more with the newest music to come out of Richie James Follin: Guards. Last year, Follin returned from a European tour and began toying with the beginnings of what eventually became Guards, which he self-produced, mixed, and recorded in New York City. He originally intended for his younger sister to sing the tracks, but it soon became a one-man-band effort with help from some talented friends. Guards is slowly but surely gaining a respected reputation and is expected to develop establishment within the indie music scene in the upcoming year.

Originally from Southern California, Follin began touring and recording in 2002 at age 19 with his ensemble band, The Willowz, for which he sings and plays guitar. Though not a strong departure from Willowz, Guards has a more drawn out sound within its debut ep of the same name. This is not a bad thing, however, as pop remnants of a time gone by carry the songs throughout. The vocals are reflective of the feeling within bold and simplistic lyrics ("Resolution of One", "Crystal Truth), and there are definitely some deliciously dark undertones to be found ("Sail it Slow"). But compared to Willowz, there is also a more calm and peaceful tone behind most of the songs, such as "Long Time" and "Trophy Queen", the latter of which features the melodic vocals of Chairlift's Caroline Polachek. Other contributers include James Richardson of MGMT, Richie's sister Madeline Follin of Cults, and drums by Willowz bandmate, Loren Shane Humphrey.

Guards has currently been playing shows stateside in the New York City area, but will be heading over to Europe come February. This Saturday, January 29th, Guards will join Beach Fossils, A Place to Bury Strangers, and Arms at Glasslands in New York for the I Guess I'm Floating 5th Year Anniversary show. The self-titled Guards ep is out now, as is a free mp3 download of their song "Don't Wake the Dead"!

Guards ep tracklist:

1. Resolution of One
2. Trophy Queen (featuring Caroline Polachek)
3. Sail it Slow (featuring CULTS)
4. Don't Wake the Dead
5. Crystal Truth
6. Long Time
7. I See it Coming

* * * * * * * * * * * *
MP3: "Don't Wake the Dead"

© 2017 Baeble Media. All rights reserved.