Know Who's Next: The Retro Lounge Soul Of Tor Miller
  • MONDAY, JANUARY 18, 2016

  • Posted by: Don Saas

One of the best parts of working in the Baeble offices is that somebody is listening to their music too loudly without their headphones. Each of us has discovered some music we didn't know but wound up loving thanks to the occasional cacophony of the space. And few artists grabbed my attention so forcibly in that manner as Tor Miller.



The above track is Tor Miller's latest single, "Carter & Cash," and once you hear it, we wish you the best of luck in getting it out of your head for the foreseeable future. Silky smooth soul isn't the half of it. Dramatic strings fuse with an emotional vocal display and a subtle dancehall beat. A Glassnote signee, Tor Miller officially leapt onto our radar with this tune and it marked him as an artist to watch.

But Mr. Miller has several more tricks under his belt than just one knockout tune. In addition to dropping "Carter & Cash" last year, Miller also released his debut EP, Headlights. The EP sounds a little less soaring than "Carter & Cash," but it makes up for it with a theatrical intimacy. Billy Joel via Lou Reed, tracks like "Midnight" and "Headlights" showcase an uncanny knack for piano pop melodies with a just a touch of retro-lounge showmanship.

There have been no official announcements for a full-length Tor Miller LP in 2016, but you can be certain that if any of the singles from that inevitable release are half as good as "Carter & Cash," we'll be waiting on that record with bated breath. Tor Miller is on all of our radars, and it's time he wound up on yours too.

And be sure to check out Miller's upcoming tour dates below as well.



Thursday, January 21: Washington, DC @ DC9
Friday, January 22: Philadelphia, PA @ Milkboy
Saturday, January 23: Boston, MA @ Middle East - Upstairs
Sunday, January 24: Burlington, VT @ Higher Ground - Small Room
Tuesday, January 26: Toronto, ON @ The Drake Hotel
Thursday, January 28: Chicago, IL @ Schubas
Friday, January 29: Madison, WI @ University of Wisconsin
Saturday, January 30: Minneapolis, MN @ Bryant Lake Bowl
Tuesday, February 2: Seattle, WA @ Barboza
Wednesday, February 3: Portland, OR @ Doug Fir
Friday, February 5: San Francisco, CA @ Rickshaw Stop - POPSCENE
Saturday, February 6: Santa Cruz, CA @ Crepe Place
Monday, February 8: Los Angeles, CA @ Bardot - SCHOOL NIGHT
Tuesday, February 9: Los Angeles, CA @ Community
Wednesday, February 10: Phoenix, AZ @ Valley Bar
Friday, February 12: Denver, CO @ Lost Lake
Saturday, February 13: Kansas City, MO @ Tank Room
Sunday, February 14: St. Louis, MO @ Duck Room at Blueberry Hill
Monday, February 15: Nashville, TN @ The Basement
Hot Baeble Videos
Beth Hart live at Baeble HQ

Beth Hart live at Baeble HQ

Leela James live at Baeble HQ

Leela James live at Baeble HQ

Maria Taylor live at Baeble HQ

Maria Taylor live at Baeble HQ

Kat Graham live at Baeble HQ

Kat Graham live at Baeble HQ

Matisyahu live at Baeble HQ

Matisyahu live at Baeble HQ

The Strumbellas live at Baeble HQ

The Strumbellas live at Baeble HQ

Mario live at The Bell House

Mario live at The Bell House

Streets of Laredo live at Baeble HQ

Streets of Laredo live at Baeble HQ

Coast Modern live at Baeble HQ

Coast Modern live at Baeble HQ

Hannah Gill and the Hours live at Baeble HQ

Hannah Gill and the Hours live at Baeble HQ

© 2017 Baeble Media. All rights reserved.